We use cookies to support features like login and allow trusted media partners to analyse aggregated site usage.
To dismiss this message and allow cookies to be used, please click "Continue".



Twitter board

Follow us
  • My week on Twitter 🎉: 1 Retweet, 2.63K Retweet Reach, 3 New Followers. See yours with https://t.co/mCw3VcMQGw https://t.co/78tC0GzGXxyesterday
  • Our cover story: CDC: A step into the unknown. Is CDC an unnecessary policy change when effort would be better spen… https://t.co/QGHfTkiPP24 days ago
  • Newton – Trend Setting: The Year Ahead in ESG ''We have seen notable client interest for sustainable products over… https://t.co/OoXVLJ1BMp4 days ago
  • Our Latest ESG feature: EM governance: Breaking through. ''Those calling for better governance in emerging markets… https://t.co/qk0vJpfpJL7 days ago
  • The February Issue is available online now! Our Cover Story - CDC: A Step in the wrong direction. Read more here:… https://t.co/8xwHL9Nd2z7 days ago
  • RT @AonRetirementUK: What do we expect to see in the #ESG market over the next 12 months? Read the results of the @portfolio_inst panel of…7 days ago
  • RT @PensionsSion: What are the pros and cons of building a global #equity portfolio? Find out by reading the @portfolio_inst Global Equitie…13 days ago
  • RT @AonRetirementUK: Outcomes delivered by employer pension schemes now depend more than ever on levels of engagement. Companies must creat…14 days ago
  • Our latest Roundtable: Cash-Flow Driven Investing is now live! Read more here: https://t.co/zBy7Gbiud9 https://t.co/KJTIgVssmG14 days ago
  • RT @BNPPAM_COM: 2017 was one of the most active hurricane seasons on record, causing up to USD 475 billion worth of damage. What are the in…26 days ago
  • RT @PensionsTony: At the Aon London #pensions conference. About to start my workshop on how well #DC schemes are meeting the needs of #memb…26 days ago
  • Andrew Wauchope talks to Mark Dunne about charities and their pension schemes, the secret of being a good trustee a… https://t.co/xcdcxs61QL26 days ago
  • Enter the Dragon : China’s inclusion in the @MSCI_Inc Emerging Market index has caused little excitement, but, as L… https://t.co/oy0EdSI6A828 days ago
  • The @InvescoUKinsti whitepaper: Responsible investing and active ownership. Invesco’s Bonnie Saynay and Henning St… https://t.co/E3Gdh9eDSM33 days ago
  • Charlotte Moore looks at the reaction of financial markets to Brexit has already changed the shape of the relations… https://t.co/6KH9jnWTtq33 days ago
  • RT @AonRetirementUK: Want to know more about the benefits of factor-based investing for your DB pension scheme? Aon’s next Investment Break…34 days ago
  • Learn more about why everyone is talking ESG on our new ESG HUB, where we will be publishing our latest features pl… https://t.co/Dg9FiwCPCn35 days ago
  • 2018: The year of the human?. Cyber crime, greater disclosure, fixed income, people and, of course, climate change.… https://t.co/HMkzWcrFNy35 days ago
  • ''Building a global portfolio of equities could also provide much needed diversification'', discover why in our Glo… https://t.co/y90GhLlmCD35 days ago
  • What is your stance on executive pay? is bigger really better? Read more in our new ESG feature:… https://t.co/cUXMiCDuE560 days ago

Friday View: July 12 2013

Effective ESG investing requires a blended approach

Effective ESG investing requires a blended approach

By Pascal Blanqué
Thursday 21st December 2017

Whilst responsible investment was limited for a long time to a few pioneering investors, it has now become a major consideration for all long-term investors.

There are now many who have realised that ignoring environmental, social and governance (ESG) challenges entails running risks. And equally, on the other end, new opportunities for creating return have emerged.

Integration of ESG criteria can take many forms: best-in-class, thematic or exclusion approaches. More extra-financial information is available on companies than ever before. Such ratings provide an insight into company practices, allowing investors to mitigate long-term investment risk by identifying possible sources of operational, reputational and regulatory risk.

Best-in-class, or “positive screening”, involves ranking assets based on ESG ratings and overweighting/underweighting the best/worst performing companies. Take oil and gas: it will take years before we can live without fossil fuels. By using the best-in-class approach, the investment manager can remain invested in oil and gas companies, but only in companies with better environmental scores.

Although ESG ratings are a useful tool, with ownership comes responsibility: investors have a huge responsibility to avoid doing harm while earning their return. Being a committed player means
engaging in constructive shareholder dialogue and exercising voting rights at general meetings.

Moreover, dialogue between companies and their shareholders around ESG topics outside of general shareholder meetings is becoming increasingly commonplace. Such a project gives companies the opportunity to improve their practices by measuring themselves against the highest industry standards, and allows shareholders to better manage their investment risks and opportunities.

In extreme cases, exclusion can be an alternative and effective tool for catalysing change. Over and above the normative exclusions that have been defined by international treaties and conventions, we can consider the divestment of controversial sectors and business practices, or issuers that are not willing to make progress.

Divestment policies are currently experiencing an undeniable growth in popularity. But they are a one-off. The investor makes his point and walks away, giving up the ability to influence behaviour in the future. It is thus more effective to blend divestment threat with engagement when searching for an impact.

Thematic investing aims to generate a concrete, quantifiable, positive impact, responding to major environmental and social challenges. Taking the example of the climate theme: the development of “green technologies” comes with financing needs and equally brings promising investment opportunities within renewable energy, water and waste management, infrastructure, etc.

We are convinced that a strong sustainable development policy enables issuers to better manage risks and improve operational efficiency. It is also a way for asset owners and managers to assume their responsibility in a world of numerous challenges, with consequences that go far beyond financial considerations.

Pascal Blanqué is a member of the 300 Club


Leave your comment

View our comments policy

Please login or register with us to leave a comment. It's completely free!