We use cookies to support features like login and allow trusted media partners to analyse aggregated site usage.
To dismiss this message and allow cookies to be used, please click "Continue".

Continue

Opinion

Twitter board

Follow us
  • Plane thinking: Should trustees take a leaf out of the aviation industry’s book to help avoid schemes joining the P… https://t.co/JVoRimIocM5 days ago
  • Portfolio Prepared? We are hosting an exclusive, pension fund only afternoon 4th July 2018 with @AonRetirementUK .… https://t.co/utQf7b8DYv5 days ago
  • Our Cover Story: ESG: A Just reward - With research claiming that better behaved companies make superior investmen… https://t.co/7VqbSkuEvz16 days ago
  • Our March/April issue is available to view now! https://t.co/d4iYIbsnjH https://t.co/EFO6RlYgkB16 days ago
  • Picking a winner - The multi-asset success story has led to the birth of an array of funds under the same all-encom… https://t.co/kTmIsg9DQS27 days ago
  • @NewtonIM – Renewables Revolution ''In this Newton white paper, we discuss the ability of renewables to deliver wha… https://t.co/NtUk6OB6v427 days ago
  • RT @portfolio_inst: @NewtonIM - ESG Investing: Buzzwords or Better Investment? ''is responsible investment simply a passing trend or a mean…30 days ago
  • @NewtonIM - ESG Investing: Buzzwords or Better Investment? ''is responsible investment simply a passing trend or a… https://t.co/K299tUsPOy30 days ago
  • Fools Gold - Bitcoin: An investor’s new friend or a threat to financial stability? Lynn Strongin Dodds takes a look… https://t.co/VKenEj6LQ730 days ago
  • @NewtonIM Sustainable Bond Investing Newton’s Scott Freedman and Victoria Barron review some of the developments in… https://t.co/6woi4Dfqjc34 days ago
  • RT @portfolio_inst: @InvescoUKinsti whitepaper: Sustainable factor investing ''The advent of what might be called sustainable factor invest…36 days ago
  • @InvescoUKinsti whitepaper: Sustainable factor investing ''The advent of what might be called sustainable factor in… https://t.co/rPdm94o9yU36 days ago
  • Old Money: Forget millennial's, pension funds looking for growth should be targeting cash-rich retirees.… https://t.co/TfPklO4QPr36 days ago
  • RT @MSCI_Cudworth: MSCI in the News. EM governance: Breaking through. Michael Cheng discusses the influence of corporate #governance in #…36 days ago
  • Our cover story: CDC: A step into the unknown. Is CDC an unnecessary policy change when effort would be better spen… https://t.co/QGHfTkiPP240 days ago
  • Newton – Trend Setting: The Year Ahead in ESG ''We have seen notable client interest for sustainable products over… https://t.co/OoXVLJ1BMp41 days ago
  • Our Latest ESG feature: EM governance: Breaking through. ''Those calling for better governance in emerging markets… https://t.co/qk0vJpfpJL44 days ago
  • The February Issue is available online now! Our Cover Story - CDC: A Step in the wrong direction. Read more here:… https://t.co/8xwHL9Nd2z44 days ago
  • RT @AonRetirementUK: What do we expect to see in the #ESG market over the next 12 months? Read the results of the @portfolio_inst panel of…44 days ago
  • RT @PensionsSion: What are the pros and cons of building a global #equity portfolio? Find out by reading the @portfolio_inst Global Equitie…50 days ago

Friday View: July 12 2013

Attractive REITs market can overcome rate hike misconception

Attractive REITs market can overcome rate hike misconception

Rogier Quirijns
Tuesday 23rd January 2018

There is a popular investor assumption that REITs, like other yield-based assets, underperform wider equity markets in periods of interest rate increases. However, this is largely a myth.

REITs have a two-fold relationship with rates: firstly, as REITs are required to distribute 90% of earnings as dividends, these companies often need to raise capital from markets to grow.

Secondly, as income assets, REITs actively compete with bonds for investor capital. As rates go up, cost of capital increases and bonds typically display higher yields – supposedly compounding the challenge for the REITs market.

Since the Federal Reserve first raised rates in 2016, global real estate securities have lagged the broader global equity markets by around 9% – seemingly reinforcing this underperformance assumption.

However, this is an historic anomaly. In previous rate rise cycles, such as in the US between 2004 and 2006 – when the Federal Reserve raised its benchmark rate 17 times against a backdrop of an accelerating economy and strong job growth – US REITs returned 99.3% compared to just 34.7% for the S&P 500.

As long as real estate fundamentals are improving, these returns highlight the ability of REITs to perform even if rates are rising. As for the recent underperformance of global REITS, we believe this has largely been driven by sentiment and misconception around rates rather than economic reality.

The fundamentals surrounding real estate remain compelling, in our view. With demand continuing to outpace supply – and as rates move higher on improving economic fundamentals – this dynamic is unlikely to reverse.

This should provide significant pricing power for landlords, counteracting the impact of higher rates. We believe that the upside of the recent underperformance in REITs is a meaningful relative value opportunity for investors in real estate.

Global REITs are currently trading on a PE of 17.9x, a five-year low for the asset class – while global equities are trading on a PE of 21x, a five-year high. A similar story is evident in the US, where REITs are trading on a PE of 18.2x, while equities are at 23x. However, we think investors must be selective with this opportunity – economics and valuations differ between regions. For example, US REITs are trading at a 6% premium.

However, the US is at an advanced stage in its economic cycle, with slower growth than the global average and a faster expected rate hike path. At the same time, REITs within the index in Australia, the UK and Japan are trading at discounts of between 6% and 9%, while these economies are on a lower-for-longer interest rate stance.

Within our global REITs portfolio, our US allocation is line with the index, but we are overweight Europe. In the UK, we are attracted to niche areas, such as industrials, student accommodation and healthcare.

We are also overweight Germany, which is enjoying strong economic, population and job growth – thanks to a vibrant exports sector and attractive migration policies.

Rogier Quirijns is a senior vice president and portfolio manager at Cohen & Steers

0

Leave your comment

View our comments policy

Please login or register with us to leave a comment. It's completely free!

Friday View

Friday View

How investor action helps cut CO2 emissions